Call for Papers 2022

SMCDC2022: Smoky Mountains Computational Sciences and Engineering Conference Data Challenge
Conference Dates: August 24-25, 2022; Data Challenge session date: September 21, 2022

General chair: Jeff Nichols, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL)
Data Challenge chairs: Hong Liu and Suzanne Parete-Koon , ORNL
Conference organizer: Theresa Ahearn, ORNL
Media and communications: Scott Jones and Elizabeth Rosenthal, ORNL

Important dates

  • Solution papers due: 7/14/2022
  • Poster Finalist Notifications: 8/2/2022
  • Invited Journal paper submission due: August 8, 2022
  • Poster/Lightning talks presentation: September 21, 2022
  • Journal Paper Acceptance Notifications Due:  September 2, 2022
  • Camera ready paper submission: September 16, 2022

This call is for papers detailing solutions to data analytics challenges based on eminent data sets at ORNL and beyond. These data sets come from scientific simulations and instruments in physical and chemical sciences, electron microscopy, bioinformatics, neutron sources, urban development, and other areas. The challenge questions for each data set will cover multiple difficulty levels. The first question in each challenge should be suitable for a novice, with each subsequent question increasing in difficulty and the series of questions ending with an advanced/expert level challenge question. This data challenge is part of the Smoky Mountains Computational Sciences and Engineering Conference (SMC2022). The current set of data challenges are available here:

Scientists and researchers are encouraged to compete in these analytics challenges whether they are at the beginning stages of incorporating data analytics into their workflow or data analytics experts interested in applying novel data analytics techniques to data sets of national importance. Students and professionals will compete in separate categories.

To compete in SMCDC2022, register your team and select a challenge to solve. Participants may work in teams of up to 5 people and will be required to submit a paper describing their solution. See for details about the specific challenges and categories of competition.

Solution Paper Submission:
Papers should be between 10-12 pages in length and contain the following sections: a proposed solution to one of the data challenges, background and related work, approach and uniqueness, results, and contributions. Your code may be included as an appendix to the pdf beyond the page limit. Solutions will be scrutinized by the data sponsors and the program committee on how well they solve the tasks related to the challenge.

The solution documents should be formatted as a PDF. Please upload your documents here:  easychair submission link 

Please follow the How To Submit Your Paper via EasyChair tutorial for detailed information.

Selected teams will be asked to present a poster describing their solution at SMC2022. Teams must have one member or a proxy available to present a  lightning talk on 9/21.  Further details and logistics will be provided at the time of selection. We will match Teams who cannot send a representative to the conference with an ORNL mentor who will represent their poster at the conference. 

Invited Springer Journal Papers:

Selected solutions will be invited to submit to CCIS Springer Journal, where the authors will extend their solutions incorporating reviewer feedback. Papers will be peer-reviewed and judged by the program committee based on how well they cover these aspects of the work. Accepted papers will be notified of the journal paper acceptance on TBD and due during the camera-ready deadline. Accepted papers will be published in SMC 2022 proceedings in the CCIS Springer Journal.

Springer Journal Formatting Instructions: 

The timeline for the journal paper submission is as follows

  • August 8, 2022: Journal Paper Submission Due
  • September 2, 2022: Acceptance Notifications Due
  • September 16, 2022: Camera Ready Paper Due

Program Committee:

  • Oscar Hernandez –  NVIDIA
  • Andy Berres  – Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Piyush Sao  – Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Saheli Ghosh –  University of California
  • Sajal Dash  – Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Ramakrishnan Kannan  – Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Arpan Biswas  – Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Tania Lorido  – University of Deusto, Bilbao (Spain)
  • Seung-Hwan Lim –  Oak Ridge National Laboratory